Saturday, August 7, 2010

Dubya's Klassikal Musik Korner

Having a ridonkulously talented musician as a mom is frustrating because while I have a deep appreciation for music and the desire to kick some ass in making some bangin tunes, the desire and the actual skill level are not in congruence with each other.  I've had years of music lessons, first in piano and more recently in cello, and I still have a long way to go.  One of the egregious musical crimes I commit on a daily basis is that I don't keep time when I play.  This is because playing with a metronome is hard and the clicking of the sucker is a constant reminder of how off I am so I only do it when my teacher make comments on how I should practice with a metronome.  It comes out to be every other week or so.  So it's pretty fucked up when I have to complain about someone else not being in time.  What I'm talking about is the Kaiser Permanente TV spot that seems to be on heavy rotation on weekend TLC and HGTV where they use Clair de Lune in the background.  I feel like my ears are molested every time this is on.



Folks, this is the actual music.


What the hell is up with the super quick eighth notes in the second measure in the TV spot? I don't approve at all. And don't these people have thousands and thousands of recordings to choose from? And this is the one they pick??? I am beyond offended.  Even I can do better than that.  I'm sure Edward Cullen would agree with me.  Edward Cullen is a sullen vampire from the Twilight series of films and books who seems to listen to Clair de Lune all the time. 

Here's me playing Clair de Lune. I learned this many many moons ago so I made a lotta mistakes in the middle section and I probably wouldn't earn the Good Job! Pandaba/Badz-Maru sticker from my teacher today but at least I can handle the first two goddam measures. Sheeeit.





Side note: See what I mean about Pandaba and her tutu from my earlier post? and also how Badz-Maru is of indeterminate species? When I was young I bought my own stickers that I brought to lessons cus the teacher's stickers were ugly and I didn't want it in my book. I had my own at the ready and picked out for when she deemed my playing sticker-worthy. By young I mean in my 20s, not when I was 10. Scary, I know.

1 comment:

  1. If I was your teacher, I'd give you 10 BAD ASS MARU stickers on EACH PAGE!

    ReplyDelete